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Mandatory Fingerprint Compliance Statute Enacted 
Any person arrested for a DUI, domestic violence, or sexual assault or per A.R.S. § 41­
1750 must provide the arresting agency with a single fingerprint to be eligible to be 
cited and released. The mandatory compliance fingerprint form provided by law 
enforcement informs the defendant he/she must provide law enforcement with a full set 
of ten-print fingerprints prior to appearing in court. The law enforcement agency that 
takes the prints must provide the defendant with proof of ten-print fingerprinting to 
provide to the court at his/her next appearance. If the defendant does not provide 
proof of fingerprinting to the court, the court is required to order the defendant to 
appear for ten-print fingerprinting within twenty days. If the defendant does not comply 
with the order, the court may remand the defendant into custody until fingerprinting is 
completed. 

BACKGROUND 
A.R.S. § 41-1750 (C) currently requires that a fingerprint based record of an arrest be 
taken for all felony, domestic violence, sexual, and DUI offenses either at the time of 
the arrest or by court order. Every law enforcement agency is required to submit these 
fingerprint-based records to the central repository, the Arizona Computerized Criminal 
History (ACCH) database, maintained by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). 

In cases where the offender is not booked at the time of arrest, but is cited and 
released or summoned, a substantial number of defendants may evade submitting 
fingerprints. The result is the defendant has no criminal history record. Research carried 
out by the Arizona Criminal Justice Commission's Statistical Analysis Center indicates 
that of those agencies sampled; only 68 percent of offenders could be matched to a 
criminal history record in the ACCH database. In analyzing cite-and-release offenses 
and long~form complaints, only 40 percent of sexual offenders, domestic violence 
offenders and DUI offenders could be matched by their fingerprints to a criminal 
history. This gap in fingerprint collection prevents the state from properly alleging prior 
offenses when defendants have multiple citations in various jurisdictions but have no 
criminal history. Proving a prior offense triggers the imposition of more severe 
penalties. This is especially true for DUI offenses and misdemeanor domestic violence 
cases where a third offense triggers a felony charge. 

This bill does not include any new offenses for fingerprinting; it simply seeks to close an 
existing gap. 

A statewide workgroup conSisting of members from all areas of criminal justice (law 
enforcement, prosecutors, courts, probation and corrections) meet regularly to diSCUSS, 
review and make recommendations for standardized best practices surrounding the 



processing of criminal history records. The workgroup developed a best practice sample 
"Mandatory Fingerprint Compliance Form" template and business procedures that 
agencies may adopt for implementation of the single print requirement. It is 
understood that agencies may need to customize the template or procedure documents 
to meet the needs of their local jurisdictions. The template documents are being offered 
to assist agencies to meet the January 1, 2010 implementation date. 

Successful implementation can only be achieved by establishing and coordinating the 
procedures between law enforcement, fingerprint/booking facilities and courts within 
each jurisdiction, The attached documents are provided to assist agencies in beginning 
their discussions to meet the implementation of these legislative reqUirements for 
mandatory ten-print fingerprints. 

Judges and Court staff should review the amendments to the Rules of Criminal 
Procedure recently approved by the Arizona Supreme Court as a result of rule petition 
R-09-0029. The rules amended by the Court include Rules 3.2, 4.2, 7.5, 14.3, 26.10 and 
the Arizona Traffic Ticket Complaint Form. The rule amendments are found at: 

http://www.supreme.state.az.us/rules/Rule%20August%2031.htm 

For additional assistance contact: 

Law Enforcement Agencies - Rene Wilson (DPS), 602-223-2261 
rswilson@azdps.gov 

Law Enforcement Fingerprint/Booking Agencies - Tina Lawson (CCSO), 928-226­
5312 
tllawson@coconino.az.gov 

Courts - Patrick Scott (AOC), 602-452-3255 
pscott@courts.az.gov 

Criminal Justice Agencies - Pat Nelson (AOC), 602-364-1152 

pnelson@azcjc.gov 
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