GRAHAM COUNTY
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Health (928) 428-1962 826 West Main Street, Safford, Arizona 85546 WIA (928) 428-7386

Temporary Food Permits

A permit is required by any person or organization (including non-profit agencies) whenever food is

provided at a public events, whether it is sold or given away. Exceptions are listed below:

Permit Level:

Examples:

No Permit Needed

e Good hygiene practices, including
no bare-hand contact with ready-
to-eat foods is still required.

Commercially-packaged foods that do not require refrigeration
(e.g., chips, candy, soda, bottled water, etc.); baked goods and
candies that do not require refrigeration (including occasional
bake sales for charitable groups, and homemade items under
the Home Baked & Confectionary Goods Program through
AZDHS); coffee, hot chocolate and lemonade (from dry mix)
using no dairy products and only commercially-bottled water;
cotton candy; popcorn.

Level 1 Permit ($25)

e Limited menu
e Event not over 4 hours if serving
potentially-hazardous foods.

Hot dogs, nachos, roasted corn, cut produce, commercially-
packaged sandwiches, kettle corn, fry bread without
beans/meat, shaved ice, pre-packaged ice cream, soft-serve
ice cream, hard ice cream, lemonade with fresh lemons,
fountain drinks, Eegee’s.

Level 2 Permit ($50)

e Simple menu
e Submit at least 1 week before
event to avoid $25 late fee.

Hamburgers (commercially-packaged, pre-formed); burros
made with pre-cooked, canned or dehydrated foods (e.g.
beans, beef, chile); Pasteurized eggs and pre-cooked sausage;
fry bread with pre-cooked, canned or dehydrated beans/meat;
permitted restaurants serving typical menu items.

Level 3 Permit ($100)

e Complex menu
e Submit at least 2 weeks before
event to avoid $50 late fee.

Burros when cooking beans and/or raw meat from scratch;
hamburgers formed on-site with raw meat; carne asada; any
foods using raw meat, poultry, or fish; fry bread served with
beans/meat cooked from scratch; non-pasteurized eggs and/or
raw sausage; food competitions and cook-offs.




GRAHAM COUNTY
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Health (928) 428-1962 826 West Main Street, Safford, Arizona 85546 FAX (928) 428-8074

Application for Temporary Food Service Permit

Applicant’s Name: Phone:

Organization:

Name of Event: Date of Event:
Event Location:

o AM o AM o AM
Food Prep Begins: o PM Food Service Begins: oPM  Ends: o PM
Name of “Person in Charge”: Phone:

(Must be able to be reached weekdays between 8 am and 5 pm, and can give detailed info about the menu, food preparation, and food service.)

At least one person with direct involvement in food preparation should have a food handler’s certification.
Please attach copy of card or certificate. (Food handler’s certifications are valid for three years.)

Name of Person with Certification:

Menu

o Limit menu to three potentially hazardous foods (PHF) unless variance is granted.
e You must provide proof of purchase from an approved source for PHF products.
o If including hamburger patties, indicate if they will be: o pre-formed, or o formed on-site at event.

Main Dishes (list components for each) Side Dishes (list components for each)

Snack Foods Condiments Beverages

List stores or suppliers where foods will be purchased:

(Rev. 10/2015)



Preparation of Menu ltems

Location of Food Preparation: o On-Site at Event

If preparing food in licensed kitchen:
Name of kitchen

o In Licensed Kitchen, if approved (Note:
Food cannot be prepared in a private home.)

Date and times of food preparation in kitchen:

Date Time

o AM o PM
o AM o PM

Please check applicable boxes for each category:

1. Temperature Control Methods

Cooking and/or Re-Heating | Hot Holding Cold Holding Transport

o Grill / BBQ o Grill / BBQ o Refrigerator o Hot holding warmers

o Roaster o Steam table o Freezer o lce chests

o Oven / Stove o Roaster o Ice chests o Cambros

o Propane burner o Oven / Stove

o Other: o Other: o Other: o Other:

2. Hand Washing Facilities

3. Food Booth Enclosure

o Gravity flow container (temporary hand wash set-up)

o Tent or canopy

o Permanent sink in food booth

o Concession trailer or mobile unit

o Other:

o Concession stand or building

4. Sanitizing

5. Ware Washing (Utensils & Cookware)

o Chlorine (50-150 ppm)

o Three-compartment sink or set-up

o Quaternary Ammonium (200-400 ppm)

o Will change wares every four hours

6. Power Source

o Electrical connection

o Propane

o Portable generator

o Other:

| certify that | have read and understand the Rules of Operation, the Regulatory Bill of Rights, the Notice of Inspection
Rights, and Prohibited Acts by County and Employees, and consent to inspection by the Graham County Health
Department during any day/hour of operation. | understand that the Temporary Food Permit must be posted at the
event and that concession workers must be instructed to comply with the regulations.

Signature:

Date:

For Office Use Only

Date Received: Date Permit Issued:

Notes:

Level/Fee:




A.R.S. 11-1604: Prohibited acts by county and employees; enforcement; notice

A. A county shall not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on a licensing requirement or condition

that is not specifically authorized by statute, rule, ordinance or delegation agreement. A general grant of

authority does not constitute a basis for imposing a licensing requirement or condition unless the

authority specifically authorizes the requirement or condition.

Unless specifically authorized, a county shall avoid duplication of other laws that do not enhance

regulatory clarity and shall avoid dual permitting to the maximum extent practicable.

This section does not prohibit county flexibility to issue licenses or adopt ordinances or codes.

A county shall not request or initiate discussions with a person about waiving that person's rights.

This section may be enforced in a private civil action and relief may be awarded against a county. The

court may award reasonable attorney fees, damages and all fees associated with the license

application to a party that prevails in an action against a county for a violation of this section.

F. A county employee may not intentionally or knowingly violate this section. A violation of this section is
cause for disciplinary action or dismissal pursuant to the county's adopted personnel policy.

G. This section does not abrogate the immunity provided by section 12-820.01 or 12-820.02.

w

moo

A.R.S. 8§ 11-1602: Regulatory Bill of Rights

To ensure fair and open regulation by counties, a person:

Is eligible for reimbursement of fees and other expenses if the person prevails by adjudication on the merits

against a County in a court proceeding regarding a County decision as provided in A.R.S. §12-348.

Is entitled to receive information and notice regarding inspections as provided in A.R.S. 811-1603 (effective

June 30, 2012).

Is entitled to have a County not base a licensing decision in whole or in part on licensing conditions or

requirements that are not specifically authorized as provided in A.R.S. §11-1604.

May have a County approve or deny the person’s license application within a predetermined period of time

as provided in A.R.S. 811-1605 (effective December 31, 2012).

Is entitled to receive written or electronic notice from a County on denial of a license application (effective

December 31, 2012):

o That justifies the denial with references to the statute, ordinance, regulation, delegation agreement or
authorized substantive policy statement on which the denial is based as provided in A.R.S. §11-1605.

o That explains the applicant’s right to appeal this denial as provided in A.R.S. § 11-1605.

Is entitled to receive information regarding the license application process at the time the person obtains an

application for a license as provided in A.R.S. § 11-1606.

May inspect all ordinances, regulations, and substantive policy statements of a County, including a

directory of documents, at the offices of the county or on the county’s website as provided in A.R.S. § 11-

1607.

Unless specifically authorized, may expect counties to avoid duplication of their laws that do not enhance

regulatory clarity and to avoid dual permitting to the maximum extent practicable as provided in A.R.S. 8

11.1604.

May file a complaint with the Board of Supervisors concerning an ordinance, regulation, or substantive

policy statement that fails to comply with A.R.S. § 11-1602.



Notice of Inspection Rights

Upon entry to the premises, the County Inspector(s) met with me, presented photo identification, and
explained that the purpose of the visit was to conduct an inspection necessary for the issuance of a permit
or license and to determine compliance with permit requirements. | understand that:

e Graham County has legal authority to conduct inspections under its Delegation Agreement with the
Arizona Department of Health Services.

e | may accompany the Department Inspector(s) on the premises, except during confidential interviews.

e There are no direct fees for this inspection; however, the costs for conducting inspections are included
in the annual permit fees.

¢ | have the right to copies of any original document(s) taken from the premises by the County during the
inspection if the County is permitted by law to take the original document(s).

¢ | have the right to have a split or duplicate of any samples taken during the inspection for the purpose
of lab analysis, if the split or duplicate of any samples would not prohibit an analysis from being
conducted or render an analysis inconclusive.

e | have the right to copies of any analysis performed on samples taken during the inspection.

e Each person whose conversation with the County Inspector during the inspection is tape recorded will
be informed that the conversation is being tape recorded.

o Each person interviewed during the inspection will be informed that their statements may be included in
the inspection report.

e The County may provide the regulated person an opportunity to correct deficiencies noted during an
inspection, either during or after the inspection; however, a County decision with regard to whether the
regulated facility has corrected the deficiency and is in substantial compliance is not an appealable
County action. (See A.R.S. § 11-1603 E, F)

e If | have any questions about this inspection | may contact Gavin Lawson, Environmental Health
Manager, RS/REHS, at (928) 428-1962.

¢ | may appeal the results of an inspection to Brian Douglas, Graham County Health Director, 826 West
Main Street, Safford, Arizona, 85546, (928) 428-1962. My administrative hearing rights are also set
forth in A.R.S. 8§ 41-1061 to -1066.

¢ | may request that the County clarify its interpretation or application of a statute, ordinance, regulation,
delegation agreement or authorized policy statement, by filing a written request in accordance with
A.R.S. § 11-1609 and directed to the attention of the Graham County Health Director.

¢ | may file a complaint with the Graham County Board of Supervisors concerning ordinances,
regulations, substantive policy statements, or County practices that are alleged to violate the
Regulatory Bill of Rights Statutes (A.R.S. § 11-1601 to -1610).



Rules: (Please initial each rule to indicate understanding and agreement.)

— MENU & FOOD SUPPLY — All menu items must be approved by the Health Department. No food may be
prepared or sold that is not on the pre-approved menu listed on the application. All food must be purchased
from an approved source (e.g., grocery store or other permitted facility). Proof of purchase must be provided.

— ON-SITE PREPARATION — All food must be prepared on-site or in a permitted kitchen, including cutting and
seasoning. Foods prepared at home cannot be sold or given to the public.

— FOOD PROTECTION — A waterproof canopy must be present and adequate to protect the food preparation,
storage, and service area. All food, paper products, and single service items must be kept at least six inches
off the ground. Eating, drinking, or smoking in the food preparation area is prohibited.

— SELF-SERVICE - Consumer self-service of food is prohibited. Condiments may come from pump, squeeze
bottle, or single-serve packets.

— FOOD CONTACT - Bare hand contact with ready-to-eat foods is not permitted. Deli tissues, tongs, spatulas,
or non-latex gloves (approved for food contact) should be used.

— FOOD HANDLERS - The person in charge should have a current food handler’s card or certificate (valid for
three years in Graham County). All food handlers should wear proper hair restraints (hat, visor, or hair net).

— HOT FOOD - Hot, cooked food must be held at 130°F or higher during storage, display, and service. If the
hot holding temperature falls below 130°F, the food must be reheated to 165°F, otherwise the food must be
discarded. Electric roasting pans may be used for reheating; crock pots are not permitted.

— COOLING/REHEATING FOOD - Cooling food for later reheating is prohibited for temporary food events,
except for restaurant staff preparing typical menu items in their kitchen.

— COLD FOOD - Cold food must be held at 41°F or below during storage, display, and service. Ice used as a
coolant must be kept drained. Ice used for drinks must be kept separate from food storage and may not be
used for any other purpose. Raw meats must be kept in separate ice chests or below ready-to-eat foods in
a refrigerator.

— THERMOMETERS - Food thermometers capable of indicating temperatures from 0°F to 220°F must be
available and used to check temperatures at least hourly.

— HANDWASHING - A hand washing station must be on-site, accessible, and equipped with hand soap and
paper towels. If a sink is not available, provide a 5-gallon potable water container, with a spigot that will stay
open and a catch basin underneath to retain wastewater. Note: hand sanitizers are not an acceptable
alternative to hand soap; anti-bacterial hand wipes may be used as a back-up.

— SANITIZING - A four-part system of wash, rinse, sanitize, and air-dry must be used (see attached photos)
for utensils or food contact surfaces needing to be cleaned. If chlorine is used, 1/2 ounce unscented bleach
per gallon of water will suffice. Chlorine free bleach may not be used.

— RESTROOMS - There must be adequate access to restrooms for concession workers and consumers.

— WASTE - Trash cans with lids must be available, in use, and kept covered, both for the concession and
consumers. An uncovered trash can for paper towels should be kept near the hand wash sink.

— PETS — No pets are allowed in food preparation or serving areas. Food events that include animals, such as
petting zoos, will need prior approval from the Health Department.

— ENFORCEMENT - Facilities should anticipate being inspected at any time during their operation and are
subject to the 2000 Arizona Food Code. Facilities found operating in violation of any of the requirements
listed above may be closed until compliance is obtained.



Make sure the food you serve is safe. Don’t forget...

Anti-bacterial wipes may be used as a

Clorox Anywhere Hard Surface spray baCk-Up for hand WaShing. (Hand sanitizers

meets requirements for sanitizing all food are not acceptable.)

prep surfaces if you prefer not to mix and

test your own sanitizers.

Always use a thermometer to ensure that

cold foods stay 41°F or colder, and hot

Non-latex gloves prevent bare-hand foods stay at least 130°F. Reheated foods
contact with ready-to-eat foods. Snug- must reach 165°F. Sanitize thermometer
fitting gloves make it easier to handle with sanitizer solution or alcohol wipes.

food. Make sure they are labeled safe for

food contact.




Temporary 3-part sink using wash tubs if utensils will
be washed during the event. Dishes must be washed,
rinsed, sanitized, and air dried. As an alternative, extra
utensils may be brought as replacements.

A hand-washing station must include a 5-
gallon (minimum) potable water container
with a spigot that will stay open, a catch
basin, soap & paper towels.
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