
Safford Justice Court 
800 W. Main Street    Safford, AZ 85546   •  Phone:  (928) 428-1210 
Business Hours:  Monday through Thursday 7:00 A.M. – 6:00 P.M. 

 
You have just received a ticket – What do you do now? 

– Follow the instructions below – 
 

Are you under age 18?  If you are under 18 you must come to court on any violation. 
 

If you are a juvenile you will need to appear in court with a parent or legal guardian on your court 
date.  Your court date may be the date listed on your complaint or the court may send you notice to 
appear at another date and time.   
 
If you fail to appear for any court appearance or fail to comply with any court order, the court will 
direct the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division to suspend your driver’s license or driving privilege until 
you have satisfied the court, or until your 18th birthday. 
 

Are you age 18 or older?  You may, or may not, have to come to court. 
 
Whether or not you have to come to court depends on whether you have been cited for a civil traffic 
violation or a criminal violation.  Look at areas (A, B, C, D, and E) on the “Arizona Traffic Ticket and 
Complaint.”  On the right hand side of each of those sections there are 4 boxes that an officer may 
check.  If the officer checked the CRIMINAL, CRIMINAL TRAFFIC, or PETTY OFFENSE box on any of 
these sections you will have to come to court.*   If, however, only CIVIL TRAFFIC is cited - you may 
not have to come to court. 

*There are two exceptions to the “if criminal – you must come to court” rule.  1st, if you are 
otherwise eligible for defensive driving school and your speed was no more than 24 miles per hour 
over the speed limit the judge will allow you to attend defensive driving school for dismissal.  Thus 89 
in a 65 zone is eligible.  90 in a 65 is not.  2nd, if you live more than 100 miles from the court or have 
physical impairments that would cause extreme hardship, you may be able to plead guilty at a 
telephone hearing with the judge.  You must submit bond, a guilty plea, a waiver of counsel form and 
be fingerprinted.  Call the court for details on this. 
 

A civil traffic violation may be taken care of by mail or in person at the court clerk’s office on or 
before the appearance date on your ticket.  (There is a box that points to your appearance date 
that looks like this:  AT THE DATE AND TIME INDICATED       )  If you fail to respond by your 
appearance date: a default judgment will be entered against you, the fine imposed, a $20 late or 
time payment fee added, your license will be suspended until the entire fine is paid, and the case 
may be turned over to a collection agency, which will add additional fees. 
 
If 18 years or older and have only been charged with civil traffic offenses you may: 
 
 Pay the fine(s):  (See section 1 on this side of this paper for details)     or 
 

Contest the ticket:  (See section 2 on this side of this paper for details)     or 
 
Attend Defensive Driving School:  (See reverse side of Plea/Payment Insert) 

Section 1:  Instructions to Pay the Fine 
 
Step A:  Determine the Bond/Fine amount: 
 
Look for the section number of the violation on your copy of the 
complaint.  This is the box located immediately to the right of 
the A on the complaint and is labeled “SECTION”.  Enter that 
number in the “Section” column on the Plea/Payment Insert.  
Look at the Bond/Fine Schedule on the other side of this paper 
to find the amount for the section number on your complaint.  
Enter the amount in the “Bond/Fine” column on the 
Plea/Payment Insert.   
 
Repeat for any other violation on your ticket, (B, C, D, and E).  
Then total all bonds/fines and write the total in “Total amount 
due” box. 
 
Note:  If your bond/fine amount is not paid in full by your 
appearance date a $20 time payment fee must be added. 
 
Step B:  Check the box that says you wish to plead 
Responsible.  Sign where it says “Sign Here.”  Then fill in the 
required info below the “Sign Here” line. 
 
Step C:  Prepare and enclose payment: 
 
You may pay by money order, cashier’s check or credit card.  
Payable to Safford Justice Court.  You may pay cash if you 
come to the court window.  (Please do not send cash in the 
mail.)  The Safford Justice Court does not accept personal 
checks.  Fill out the Payment Section.  Mail the Plea/Payment 
Insert  along with the payment to the court. 
 
Section 2:  Instructions to Contest the Ticket 
 
Step A:  Determine the Bond/Fine amount: 
 
Follow the instructions under Section 1, Step A to determine the 
Bond/Fine amount.  
 
Step B:  Check the box on the Plea/Payment Insert that says 
you wish to plead Not Responsible.  Sign where it says “Sign 
Here.”  Then fill out the required information below the signature 
line. 
 
Step C:  Prepare and enclose payment: 
 
Fill out the Payment Section.  Mail the Plea/Payment Insert 
along with the payment to the court.  Pay by money order or 
cashier’s check to Safford Justice Court.  You may pay cash 
at the court window.  (Do not send cash in the mail.)  No 
personal checks.



             BOND / FINE  SCHEDULE / (Effective beginning 1-1-15) 
 
28-448A (Failure to notify department of address change) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $122 
28-644A (Failure to obey traffic control device). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $144 
28-645A(3)a (Red Light Violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $201 

       Note:  If you have been cited for a red light violation and are found      
       Responsible for the violation by the court (either by pleading responsible    
       or by challenging the ticket at a hearing and losing), you will be required     
       to attend a Traffic Survival School (TSS) class by the Motor Vehicle    
       Division (MVD). (TSS is a separate class from Defensive Driving   
       School).  If however, you are eligible for  Defensive Driving School and     
       complete the class, the violation will be dismissed and you will not be   
       subject to the MVD requirement to attend a TSS class.   

28-645 (Traffic light violations) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $142 
28-646 (Pedestrian control signals or pedestrian loitering while crossing) . .  $142 
28-647.1  (Flashing Red Stop Signal violation)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $201 
            The note under 28-645A(3)a regarding TSS also applies to this violation 
28-647.2 (Flashing yellow caution signal)  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $142 
28-648 (Display of unauthorized signs, signals or markings) . . . . . . . . . . . .   $142 
28-651 (Use of private property to avoid traffic control device) . . . . . . . . . . .  $142 
28-701A (Failure to Control to avoid collision) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $291 
28-701A (Speeding) . . . See Miles per Hour over the Speed Limit chart below 
 
     1 - 8 . . . . . $122      17 - 18 . . . $218      27 - 28 . . . $302      37 - 38 . . .  $401 
     9 - 10 . . . . $142      19 - 20 . . . $232      29 - 30 . . . $322      39 - 40 . . .  $432 
     11 - 12 . . . $162      21 - 22 . . . $252      31 - 32 . . . $342      41 ↑ call court  
     13 - 14 . . . $182      23 - 24 . . . $272      33 - 34 . . . $362        
     15 - 16 . . . $201      25 - 26 . . . $291      35 - 36 . . . $382 
 
28-701E (Speed less than reasonable and prudent) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $142 
28-701.02 (Excessive Speed) (Criminal - Appear in court unless DDS eligible) 
           If you are otherwise eligible for Defensive Driving School and your speed was   
           no more than 24 miles per hour over the speed limit the judge will allow you to 
           attend defensive driving school for dismissal of a 28-701.02 charge.  If you  
           were doing  25 mph over the speed limit or above you are not eligible for DDS. 
28-702.01A (Waste of Finite Resources) (56 to 65 in a 55 zone) . . . . . . . . . .  $77 
           No points on license.  Also an insurance company may not consider a  
           Waste of Finite Resources citation as a moving traffic violation. 
28-702.01C (More than 65 mph in a 55 mph zone) . . . See 28-701A chart above 
28-702.04 (Speeding) . . See 28-701A chart above 
28-704A (Speed Impeding Traffic) . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $142 
28-721 (Failure to drive on the right side of the roadway) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-722 through 28-725 (Failure to pass properly) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$122 
28-726 (Driving left of center) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $122 
28-727 (Passing in no-passing zone) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .    $201 
28-729.1 (Unsafe lane change) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $162 
28-730 (Following too closely) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   $142 
28-751 (Improper turn) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-754B (Failure to signal at least 100 ft prior to turn) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-771 through 28- 776 (Failure to yield right of way, etc.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-791 through 28-796 (Pedestrian violations) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-811 through 28-817 (Bicycle violations) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-851 (driving through a closed railroad gate or barrier) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $201 

28-852 through 28-854 (Other Railroad crossing violations) . . . . . . . . . . . . . $201 
28-855 (Stop sign / Yield sign violations) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $142 
28-856 (Emerging from alley, driveway or building improperly) . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-857 (Passing a School Bus) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $548 
            If 2nd within 36 months . . . . .  $1463 + up to 6 month license suspension 
            If 3rd within 36 months . . . . .  $1921 + up to 1 year license suspension 
28-871, 28-873 or 28-874 (Improper stopping, standing or parking) . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-904 (Driving on sidewalk)   . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $122 
28-907A (Child passenger restraint system) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $162 
            If 1st offense the Court may suspend the fine if you make a sufficient  
            showing to the court that the vehicle is now equipped with a child seat. 
28-909A (Seat belt violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $77 
28-921 (Equipment violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $97 
28-955 (Muffler violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $274 
            If 1st offense the Court may suspend the fine if you prove to the court  
            that you have now  repaired or installed an adequate muffler. 
28-959.01B (Window tint violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $122 
28-2153A or 28-2532 (Registration violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $640 
            If you had valid registration at the time you received the ticket but  
            couldn’t show it to the officer you may have the violation dismissed if  
            you show proof to the court by your court date.   
            If you didn’t have valid registration at the time of the ticket, but have  
            subsequently registered the vehicle, you may have the fine amount  
            reduced to $182 if you bring proof of registration to the court.  
28-3151 (Driving without a valid or properly endorsed license) . . . . . . . . . . . $162 
28-3169 (Driving without license in possession) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  $162 
           This charge may be dismissed if the Defendant shows the court proof that  
           they had a driver’s license that was valid at the time of the violation. 
28-3473 (Driving on a Suspended Lincense)  Criminal - must appear in court.   
           If the only reason your license is suspended is because a court 
           suspended your license for not paying a fine (pursuant to 28-1601), you  
           may be able to have this violation dismissed if you get your license  
           reinstated and bring proof to the court. 
28-4135 A,B, or C (No proof of insurance) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $1006 
           If 2nd within 36 months . . $1463    If 3rd  within 36 months . . $1921 
           If you had valid insurance at the time you received the ticket but couldn’t  
           show it to the officer - you may have the violation  dismissed if you show  
           proof to the court (by your court date).  If you did not have insurance at  
           citation time but then prove to the court that A) you have now acquired a 6  
           month or longer policy, and B) you bring the court a copy of your MVD  
           driving record that proves that you have not been found responsible for a  
           violation of 28-4135 in the past 24 months or not more than one violation  
           within the past 36 months, you may have the fine reduced to $122. 
28-4139A (License plate violation) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $548 
 
The above figures include the Base Fines to which are added several state and county  
mandated surcharges:  a $20 Graham County Fee, a $10 Court Security Fee, a 47%  
Criminal Justice Enhancement Fund surcharge, a 13% Medical  Services Enhancement  
Fund surcharge, a 10% Clean Elections Fund surcharge, a 7% Fill The Gap Fund 
surcharge, a 6% DNA Fund surcharge, a $13 State Assessment, and a $2 HB 2625 fee. 
  
Items in bold are eligible for Defensive Driving School (DDS).  For additional information  
on DDS and DDS eligibility see reverse side of Plea/Payment Insert. 



     Plea/Payment Insert 
 
  Section # Bond/Fine 

 
A. __________ ________ 

 
B. __________ ________ 

 
C. __________ ________ 

 
D. __________ ________ 

 
E. __________ ________ 

 
add $20 time payment        ________ 
fee if late 

 
Total Amount Due: 

 
        I plead Responsible to the charge(s) listed on my 
complaint.  I am enclosing the amount listed on the bond 
schedule, and I do not want a hearing.  If I choose this 
option, this case will be finished and I do not have to 
appear in court. 
 
        I plead Not Responsible to the charge(s) listed on 
my complaint and wish to have a hearing.  I understand 
that if I choose this option I will be unable to attend 
Defensive Driving School for dismissal of this violation. 
 
I have read the instructions and have entered a plea by 
checking the appropriate box above. 
 
 
Sign Here: ___________________________________ 
 
 
Printed name:  _______________________________ 

(as it appears on the citation) 
 
Birthdate: ____________   Phone #:  ______________ 
 
Mailing Address: ______________________________ 
 
City:  ____________________  Zip: _______________    
 
Complaint #: __________________ 
 
 
Payment Section:  Write in the box the amount 
enclosed. 
 
                                     Amount              Money Order   

                                     enclosed            Cashier’s Check 
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Defensive Driving School 
Information 

 
Defensive Driving School (DDS) is a court administered 
program which presents traffic safety classes through 
court certified commercial schools.  Attending DDS 
allows you to get one eligible violation dismissed. 
 
What are the benefits? 
     -- No points are assessed to your motor vehicle             
             record 
     -- Your insurance rate does not go up 
     -- You will learn valuable traffic information, driving     
             techniques and laws 
 
Some details: 
     -- You may only attend DDS for one eligible violation 
             every 24 months (violation date to violation  
             date) 
     -- You may not attend DDS if you have a Commercial 
             Driver’s license (this is the case even if you  
             Were not driving a commercial vehicle when  
             cited) 
     -- You are not eligible if the violation resulted in death  
             or serious physical injury. 
     -- You must schedule DDS at least 7 days before the  
             appearance date on your citation.  You must call  
             the court at (928) 428-1210 to notify the Clerk of  
             your date to attend DDS.  You must complete  
             the course within 30 days of your appearance  
             date. 
     -- DDS will cost between $155 and $255. 
 
What violations are eligible for DDS? 
     -- The violations that are eligible are denoted in the  
             Bond/Fine Schedule in bold.   
     -- On violations of 28-701.02 the court will give  
             permission for you to attend DDS if you are  
             otherwise eligible and your speed was no more 
             than 24 miles per hour over the speed limit.   
             Thus 89 in a 65 zone is eligible.  90 in a 65 is  
             not. 
      
I don’t think I am responsible for the violation the officer 
cited me for.  Can I have a hearing before a judge and 
then go to DDS later if I lose? 
     -- No.  You may ask for a hearing or attend DDS but 
                 you cannot do both. 
 
For more information about DDS or on DDS providers 
call 1-888-334-5565 or consult the Supreme Court’s 
Website:  www.azdrive.com 
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