Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
The hours are 9 a.m. until completed.
Show All Answers
The tax lien sale is in February every year. The next sale is on February 22, 2023 beginning at 9 a.m.
The sale will be at the Graham County General Services Building in the Assembly Room, located at:921 Thatcher BoulevardSafford, AZ 85546
During February, the list is posted at this site, posted outside our office at:General Services Building921 Thatcher BoulevardSafford, AZ 85546
These are available for purchase from us if you call 928-428-3440 and are advertised in the Eastern Arizona Courier (please call 928-428-2560). In other months, the list of available liens is posted at this site and available at the Treasurer’s Office for review or purchase.
You can only bid if you have registered. You must be registered to bid and have a bidder number.
Visit the Treasurer’s Office and complete a Bidder Information Form (online). Get the form at this site and send it to us by email, fax (928-428-3991) or regular mail:Graham County Treasurer:P.O. Box 747Safford, AZ 85548
On the day of the sale each registered bidder will be given a bidder number at the Treasurer’s Office:921 Thatcher BoulevardSafford, AZ 85546
We accept personal checks if the purchaser has previously purchased tax liens. First time purchasers are required to pay with cash, cashier’s check or money order. Call us at 928-428-3440 or visit us at:921 Thatcher BoulevardSafford, AZ 85546
No, you may not.
Certificates sold at the tax sale are $10 per certificate. Certificates sold after the tax sale as assignments include an additional $10 re-assignment fee, however this is included in the certificate purchase and will be included in the redemption amount. Call us at 928-428-3440 for information on how to pay.
The interest rate will be the same as the certificate that is being re-assigned. You may be awarded 10% on the 2015 tax lien, but the 2014 and prior years may be at a different rate and would be assigned at that rate. You may contact the Treasurer’s Office at 928-428-3440 to find out the interest rate on prior years.
The Treasurer’s Office does have a Public Access Terminal that may be used for research.
We will process all refunds as soon as possible. It is recommended that you pay the exact amount to avoid overpayments. Refunds will be issued within two weeks of the sale.
We will not accept underpayments.
Judicial Foreclosure actions are initiated and executed at the expense of the investor. The county has no part in this proceeding.
This information may be obtained at the Arizona State Legislature website.
When you purchase a tax lien, you are not purchasing the property. You are purchasing a lien against the property. A tax lien holder is then eligible to receive interest back on the payment when the taxes are paid by the homeowner. A tax lien holder has no rights to the property. However, if the homeowner does not pay the taxes within a certain amount of the time, the lien holder can attempt to foreclose on the property to force payment or obtain a deed. The Treasurer’s website has more information on this process.
When you purchase a property through a Tax Deed Sale, the property has already been through a tax lien sale and due to non-payment over several years has been deeded to the State of Arizona. These properties are available for the first time in December and then available over the counter throughout the year. Once the tax deed process is complete a deed is issued to the purchaser. The deed is issued WITHOUT WARRANTY. The County does not warrant the title and the property is deeded AS IS.